Chris Russell – Narrative Portraits of NYC Subway Riders

IMG_6353-s

Chris Russell – Narrative Portraits of NYC Subway Riders

In a twist of inspiration I came across the work of Chris Russell while browsing the illustration archives of Juxtapoz Magazine. Chris’s undeniably entertaining and intriguing illustrations are discussed in an article posted Wednesday 31st of July 2013. For 4 years Chris dedicated his travels in NYC subways to documenting various people who sat in front of him. These characters combined to form an accordion style books.

These fascinating people overlap, layer and sit side by side in an unexpected visual documentary narrative. Conversations spill from the imagery into the mind of the visual reader. Unspoken words between people who may never have met are created by chance sequential meetings upon paper. Sounds spill from the pages in crowded forms interjected in places by tiny text or inanimate objects.

IMG_6271-s

Chris’s work is beautifully constructed however it is the method and process which has caught my attention and influenced me. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I have lacked spontaneity in my work and feel that broadening my horizons to take in multiple views of the same subject may be an option I will strongly consider in my art. 

 

IMG_6357-s

highspeedproductions(2014) Narrative Portraits of NYC Subway Riders by Chris Russell, Available at: http://www.juxtapoz.com/current/narrative-portraits-of-nyc-subway-riders-by-chris-russell, Accessed (30/12/13)

About heffyd

An aspiring Artist&Illustrator in love with creativity View all posts by heffyd

Leave a comment